Maquoketa Valley’s 2019-20 dance team: from left, Lily Kriya Atwell, Isabel Landas, McKenna Thompson, Keziah Ambundo, Leah Ries, Annisten Trenkamp, coach Jennifer Teymer, Allie Dunn, Kaelynn Clark, Mianna Gosche, Molly Anderegg and Kendra Hillers.

Maquoketa Valley will compete at the Iowa State Dance/Drill Team Association’s 44th annual state competition, Thursday, Dec. 5, at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines.

The Wildcats will compete in Class III Hip Hop with teams from Tri-Center, Hinton, North Union, North Cedar, West Sioux, Iowa City Regina, Bellevue, West Monona, Missouri Valley, South O’Brien and Cascade.

“It was a tough decision to only compete in one category this year,” said Maquoketa Valley coach Jennifer Teymer. “With such a young team it seemed like a good choice.”

“I’m glad we went this route because so many of the girls compete in other activities,” she said. “I’m glad we didn’t have to have so many practices so they could concentrate on other commitments.”

The Wildcats will compete at 8:54 a.m. Dec. 5, and their music consists of selections from 90s boy bands.

“When the songs were picked most of the girls had no idea who NSYNC or the Backstreet Boys are,” Teymer said. “We have such a young team this year with many of the girls wanting to try something new. I’ve been very impressed with their willingness to learn and how hard they practice.”

This year’s Maquoketa Valley team consists of juniors Annisten Trenkamp and Allie Dunn, sophomores Kriya Atwell, Keziah Ambundo, Leah Ries, Kaelynn Clark, Mianna Gosche, Molly Anderegg and Kendra Hillers, and freshmen Isabel Landas and McKenna Thompson.

“I’m excited to see what this season has in store for us since we are such a young team,” said Ries. “State will be exciting for newer members of the team since it is such an eye-opening experience.”

“I’m super proud and excited to see the hard work we’ve been doing pay off,” added Dunn.

Not only are the Wildcats looking forward to state competition, but new uniforms will also add to the excitement.

“We feel very blessed by the Boosters purchasing us new uniforms this year,” said Teymer. “We can’t wait to show them off at state.”

The awards ceremony will start at approximately 8 p.m. in Wells Fargo Arena.