Placing all five scoring runners in the first five spots, the Maquoketa Valley boys captured the title at the Independence cross country invitational Sept. 28. Their 15 points were 52 points clear of runner-up New Hampton with 67, followed by Independence 70 and Waterloo Columbus 77.

Taking first individually was Cy Huber in 17:38. Second went to Michael Schaul (18:01), followed by Derek Mensen third (18:07), Mason Lubben fourth (18:23) and Ethan Doyl fifth (18:34). Not far behind in eighth was Preston Roling (18:46), giving them six of the top 10 spots. Brock Trenkamp ran 26th (21:02) and Landin Frasher 31st (21:38).

The girls team placed third in their three-team field with 58 points, trailing Independence 25 and New Hampton 49.

Emma Doyl, Jaiden Porter and Kriya Atwell ran sixth, seventh and eighth with times of 22:07, 22:22 and 22:58. Jordan Hogan was 27th (29:15), Annie Trenkamp 32nd (31:09) and Ci’Ann Richardson 35th (32:58).