At its regularly scheduled meeting, Feb. 8, West Delaware’s Board of Education approved early retirements for 11 employees with a combined 294 years of experience in the school district.

The voluntary early retirement program provides an incentive that promotes an orderly means of transitioning employees and anticipates cost savings to the district. The program also recognizes service to the district and acknowledges those employees with superior attendance during their employment.

To meet the requirements of the program, employees must be at least 55 years of age with a minimum of 10 consecutive years in the district immediately before June 30, 2021.

Certified staff members will receive a total additional compensation of $45,000 to be paid in three annual installments, beginning Oct. 31, 2021, along with compensation for each day of unused sick leave.

Classified staff are eligible for an additional payment of $15,090 if the employee was working 40 hours per week, or $13,080 if employed at least 30 hours per week. Unused sick leave will be compensated for classified staff.

Payments will be deposited to an individual Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) for employees electing to continue in the district health insurance plan. Employees not choosing to continue coverage in the district health insurance plan will have funds deposited to an individual special pay deferment plan. MidAmerica Administrative and Retirement Solutions, Inc. will administer the programs.

Certified staff members electing to accept the early retirement program are: Carol McMahon-Rave, first-grade teacher, 33 years; Joan Salow, high school science teacher, 31 years; Cheryl Jewitt, seventh-grade language arts teacher, 29 years; Duane Philgreen, high school vocal teacher, 26 years; Mark Philgreen, high school band teacher, 24 years; Patricia Griffin, elementary music teacher, 22 years; and Angela Holt, ELL/literacy instructor, 18 years.

Classified staff retirees include: Cindy Zebuhr, secretary, 46 years; Jeanne Woods, food service supervisor, 34 years; Diane Egemo, associate, 19 years; and Terry Mohr, custodian, 12 years.

In other business, the Board approved the 2021-22 school calendar and approved 2021 Driver Education fees of $350 for students enrolled at West Delaware and $450 for non-West Delaware students.

Proposed improvements to the old bus barn were approved along with the Grant Wood AEA Enrollment Express agreement.

The Board also approved the hiring of Therese Hansen, Lambert cafe/recess associate and Alisha Norton, Lambert special education associate. Resignations were accepted from Lambert special education associate Aerial Hess, Middle School cafe/recess associate Alexa Dunn, high school food service worker Emily Meier and high school food service and van driver Keshia Dittrick.