West Delaware hammered its way to the Class 2A State Dual Tournament championship at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Feb. 13, defeating No. 8 Sergeant Bluff-Luton, No. 5 Crestwood and No. 2 Solon to complete a terrific dual season.

The Hawks, making their ninth state duals appearance, won 29-of-42 matches, with 19 pins, to win the duals for the second time — the first way back in 1991.

“These guys have been doing this all year. They did what they did all year and it worked for them,” said West Delaware coach Jeff Voss. “I’m proud of what this team accomplished — they kept getting better and better. I think our best is yet to come.”

The title match against a Solon team West Delaware had defeated, 51-18, in December got off to a big start when freshman Jadyn Peyton won a 9-1 decision over Aidan Dall at 138 pounds.

“Wrestling my match has been my main focus,” said Peyton. “Our four mindset goals — be thankful for the opportunity to wrestle, be aggressive and relentless, have no fear of losing or making mistakes, and never give up — are things I call on going into each match. It’s nice to go out first and get things started the right way for the team.”

Cael Meyer won an 11-2 decision over Colton Spillman at 145 and Mitchel Mangold followed up with a 3:16 fall over Solon’s feisty Caleb Ebert at 152 to put the Hawks up 14-0. Expecting a rematch with Zach Bevins, Mangold had his hands full keeping Ebert in check.

“Solon bumped the line-up around a bit. I knew I had to get bonus points for the team,” said Mangold. “He (Ebert) is so quick. He was just running around out there. I couldn’t get him turned over but finally got the job done.”

Bevans, moving up to 160, got the Spartans on the board with a 4-2 decision over Jared Voss. Wyatt Voelker got things back on track at 170 with a major decision over Andy Brokaw to make it 18-3 before Solon’s Jax Flynn won a physical 5-4 battle with Jack Neuhaus at 182.

Jordan Bries then made it 21- 6 with a gritty 3-2 win over Seamus Poynton at 195 and Ben Petlon got a 6-4 win over Adam Bock at 220 to put the Hawks up 18 points.

“We are wrestling the same matches,” said Bries. “It’s just a different place. We treat it as any other place and take it from there.”

Solon moved Mike Hoyle (43-1) up to 285 to face Carson Petlon and Hoyle won a 6-4 decision to make it 24-9 and the match was seemingly in play, but three consecutive pins from West Delaware made it 42-9 and the outcome was no longer in doubt.

Blake Engel topped Kaden Lamm in 1:26 at 106, Luke Farmer pinned Jakobe Lahr in 0:44 and Evan Woods put Lucas Kampmann away in 1:08.

Stavely Maury gave eventual 126 pound individual champion Hayden Taylor all he could handle in an 11-7 battle before Ryan Phillips ended things with a 4-3 win over Solon’s talented Zeb Gnida at 132 to make the final 45-12.

“We did what got us here and kept doing it,” said Voss. “I honestly believed this was a possibility the first week of practice. The guys had a vision at the beginning of the year.

“The other thing these guys have is a work ethic. You put those things together and good things are going to happen,” added Voss.

West Delaware handled Sergeant Bluff-Luton 58-20 in the quarterfinal round.

126 — Maury over Noah Parmalee (11-2)

132 — Phillips over Andon Dillavou (fall 0:30)

138 — Peyton over Tyler Schenklberg (fall 3:31)

145 — Meyer over Corey Bates (fall 3:03)

152 — Easton Graff over Kyle Cole (fall 1:58)

160 — Voss over Blake Liebe (fall 1:49)

170 — Voelker over Braydyn Barclay (fall 2:41)

182 — Neuhaus over Tristan Navrkal (fall 0:30)

195 — Bries over Gabe Warren (fall 0:22)

220 — Kieran Monaghan over Dustin Stowe (fall 3:59)

285 — AJ Ellingson over Kody Wenger (7-3)

106 — Engle won by forfeit

113 — Brayden Graff over Carter Klein (fall 1:13)

120 — Nate Curry over Ethan Hoefer (TF 16-0)

West Delaware defeated Crestwood, 51-28, in the semifinal round.

132 — Phillips over Hunter Fousek (fall 1:07)

138 — Peyton over Clay Schemmel (fall 5:13)

145 — Meyer over Cade Wenthold (fall 1:17)

152 — Mangold over Hunter Bye (fall 0:43)

160 — Ross Niewohner over Voss (Inj. DQ)

170 — Voelker over Colter Bye (TB-1 3-2)

182 — Neuhaus over Landon Schemmel (fall 0:33)

195 — Bries won by forfeit

220 — Wyatt Scheidel over Ben Petlon (fall 5:42)

285 — Carson Petlon over Stone Peckham (fall 3:10)

106 — Carter Fousek over Engel (9-0)

113 — Ethan Govern over Farmer (fall 1:30)

120 — Kaden Anderlik over Conner Turnis (fall 0:29)

126 — Reily Dolan over Bryce Shea (fall 2:31)